border left blue header line border right
INBRE logo header text
header bottom
  Lead Institutions  

uams logo
The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) is the only academic health sciences university, public or private, in the state. Established in 1879, UAMS provides the only medical and pharmaceutical education in Arkansas and is the state’s largest, most comprehensive facility for medical treatment and biomedical research. The university pursues its three-fold mission -- to teach, to search, to serve -- through educational programs in the Colleges, biomedical and biotechnology research initiatives, and clinical programs for patients at University Hospital and its affiliated clinics.

Centers & Institutes

  • UAMS Medical Center

  • Regional Health Centers

  • Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute

  • Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute

  • Psychiatric Research Institute

  • Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute

  • Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy

  • Donald W. Reynolds Center on Aging

  • Translation Research Institute


  • College of Medicine

  • College of Pharmacy

  • College of Nursing

  • College of Health Related Professions

  • College of Public Health

  • Graduate School

  • Northwest Satellite Campus



Founded in 1871 under the Federal Land-Grant Act and located in Fayetteville along the western edge of the Ozark Mountains, the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville (UAF) is a comprehensive research institution. The flagship campus is Arkansas' major source of theoretical and applied research and provides a wide range of services to the state's citizens, business, and industry.

UA Colleges and Schools

  • College of Education and Health Professions
  • College of Engineering
  • Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences
  • Eleanor Mann School of Nursing
  • Fay Jones School of Architecture
  • Global Campus (School of Continuing Education and Academic Outreach)
  • Graduate School
  • J. William Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences
  • Sam M. Walton College of Business
  • School of Human Environmental Sciences
  • School of Law
  • School of Social Work



The University of Arkansas, Little Rock (UALR) is a dynamic metropolitan that has traditionally emphasized undergraduate education. It is currently expanding its programs in graduate education and emphasizing technology and information science. As an active and integral part of the community, UALR is able to put its students in close contact with the state's most influential leaders in government, business, industry, medicine, and information technology. In fact, offering the state's only comprehensive information science and systems engineering program, UALR is a leader in the field of information technology.

UALR Colleges and Schools

  • College of Arts, Letters & Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Education & Health Professions
  • George W. Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology
  • College of Professional Studies
  • School of Social Sciences & Communications
  • Graduate School
  • William H. Bowen School of Law

Quick Links

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

University of Arkansas

University of Arkansas
at Little Rock

University of Arkansas System



The Arkansas INBRE is supported by a grant  from the National Institutes of Health

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (P20 GM103429).

Please contact Diane McKinstry regarding questions or comments about this site or our program.
For more information about the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences visit

  blue footer line