border left blue header line border right
INBRE logo header text
header bottom
  Partner Institutions  

Arkansas State University

Arkansas State University (ASU), located 100 miles northeast of Little Rock in Jonesboro, enjoys a reputation as a quality regional institution of higher education and is recognized for offering special services to the people of the Arkansas Delta. It is the only comprehensive public university located in this region. Dedicated to teaching, research and service, the university provides students with the broad educational foundations that help develop critical thinking and analytical skills, decision-making capabilities, and communication skills.

Hendrix College

Founded in 1876 as Central Institute in Altus, Arkansas, Hendrix College is now located in Conway. Hendrix is a 4-year, private, residential, liberal arts college. Hendrix offers the Bachelor of Arts degree for 25 academic majors, including Interdisciplinary Studies for students who want to develop their own major, and the Master of Arts in Accounting. Students are taught by 82 terminal-degree-holding, full-time faculty. Hendrix is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, University Senate of the United Methodist Church, National Association of Schools of Music, National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education, and the American Chemical Society.

John Brown University

John Brown University (JBU) is located in northwest Arkansas, 30 minutes west of Fayetteville. JBU is a fully accredited, four-year, private university committed to providing academic excellence in a distinctly Christian university community. JBU's "Head, Heart, Hand" motto describes our educational philosophy, in which academic excellence, spiritual development and professional preparation are each an important element of a university education. JBU offers 50 majors in the liberal arts, sciences, and professions to over 1,100 undergraduate students. JBU is listed as one of "America's 100 Best College Buys," and is a U.S. News & World Report top-tier regional university.

Ouachita Baptist University

Ouachita Baptist University (pronounced Wash'-uh-taw) was named for the Ouachita River, which forms the eastern boundary of the campus. Ouachita is a Caddo Indian word which is thought to have meant "eastern boundary of our nation." Ouachita Baptist University, located on the banks of the Ouachita River in Arkadelphia, Arkansas, was founded as a church-related, liberal arts university in 1886. Ouachita offers more than forty majors in four schools. In addition to the four schools, Ouachita offers many academic opportunities outside the scope of the classroom.

University of Arkansas Pine Bluff

UAPB is located in Jefferson County in Southeast Arkansas, 45 miles from Little Rock. UAPB adheres to the philosophy that education is the cornerstone of a creative, enlightened, participative, and responsive society. Guiding principles embrace the conviction that total student development is best achieved by providing an atmosphere conducive to the full realization of human dignity and productivity.

University of Central Arkansas

The University of Central Arkansas (UCA) at Conway is a public, 4-year institution founded in 1907 as Arkansas State Normal School, becoming the University of Central Arkansas in 1975. UCA supports various colleges: Business Administration, Fine Arts and Communication, Education, Health and Applied Sciences, Liberal Arts, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and the Honors College. UCA is primarily a teaching institution, but has a growing program of research and public service.


The Arkansas INBRE is supported by a grant  from the National Institutes of Health

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (P20 GM103429).

Please contact Diane McKinstry regarding questions or comments about this site or our program.
For more information about the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences visit

  blue footer line